Few Napa Valley wineries can rival the rich and storied history of Freemark Abbey. It all began in 1886, when Josephine Tychson established the original winery along Route 29 in St. Helena where Freemark Abbey still stands. She kicked off a history of innovation, becoming one of the first woman winegrowers on record.
Though many consider our library wines a religious experience … we’ve never actually been run by monks. The current name of the winery was created in 1939, when the three owners – Charles Freeman, Markquand Foster and Abbey Ahern – combined their names to form the moniker “Freemark Abbey.”
Our stone winery, hand-built in 1899, is a testament to our long presence in Napa and on the famed Rutherford Bench. And in a valley overflowing with prized real estate, the Sycamore and Bosché vineyards that yield some of our choicest fruit are two of the most coveted.